Meet My Main Character

I’m playing along in the most recent blog tag game. This one has me sharing my main character with you. I was tagged by historical novelist Kim Rendfeld, author of The Cross and the Dragon and the forthcoming The Ashes of Heaven’s Pillar.

What is the name of your character? Is he/she fictional or a historic person?
My main character is Snow White. Both fictional and historic!

When and where is the story set?
Snow White and the Queen takes place in a standard fairy-tale world, with dwarfs, elves, wisps and an evil Queen.

What should we know about him/her?
My Snow White is a more well-developed character than the one you know from the original fairy tale. She is left with the dwarfs as a baby, and as she grows she wonders why she was left there. Who is she? Where did she come from? When she leaves the dwarf kingdom, she is searching for her identity.

What is the main conflict? What messes up his/her life?
We, the reader, know that the Queen wants Snow White dead, and Snow White eventually learns this too.

What is the personal goal of the character?
At first, Snow White wants to learn who she is and why she was left with the dwarfs. When she learns that the Queen is her enemy, she decides that she will defeat the Queen.

Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?
My working title is Snow White and the Queen. I have talked about this story in another blog hop and as part of my 2013 NaNoWriMo project.

When can we expect the book to be published?
Snow White and the Queen is being submitted to agents at the moment. A publication date will hopefully be forthcoming.

Now it is my turn to tag some author friends:

Sandy Brehl, author of Odin’s Promise

Stephanie Golightly Lowden, author of Jingo Fever

and historical novelist Rebecca Henderson Palmer .

You can visit these authors’ websites next week to learn about their main characters.

Leave a comment