September 28, 2013

Most Popular Books for Children

Posted in author, books, reading at 11:22 am by elizabethcaulfieldfelt

A little over a week ago, I asked these questions: What was your favorite picture book as a child? As a parent? What was your favorite children’s chapter book? How would your children answer?

I asked this of some friends and acquaintances and posted it on two Facebook discussion groups. Some of my respondents listed one favorite for each category; others listed many. My Facebook groups are historical fiction groups, so this poll is biased toward historical fiction. Like me, many of my friends are women over 40, so this list is biased in that way too.

The results of my biased poll are in! To be included, a title or author had to be mentioned at least three times.

Most Popular Picture Books/Authors:

Dr. Seuss got more votes than anyone else.  Congratulations Dr. Seuss!

Other oft -mentioned books and authors:

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

The Berenstain Bears books by Stan and Jan Berenstain

A is for Annabella by Tasha Tudor

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

The My Bookhouse books by Olive Beaupre Miller

Most Popular Chapter Books/Authors for Children

The Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder got the most votes for this category. Congratulations, Laura Ingalls Wilder!

Other oft-mentioned books and authors:

Beverly Cleary (in particular, her Ramona books)

Enid Blyton’s books

The Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene

The Winnie the Pooh books by A.A. Milne

The Boxcar Children books by Gertrude Warner Chandler

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Doing this poll brought some new authors and books to my attention. I don’t know Enid Blyton and have yet to read any of the My Bookhouse books. I look forward to filling this gap in my knowledge of children’s literature!

Is your favorite author or book missing from the list? Feel free to mention them in the comments below.

2 Comments »

  1. Beth Elliott said,

    Interesting list – I’m not familiar with several of these titles, which may be due to growing up in England and certain books being less available at that time. Enid Blyton was a staple for English children [ many boarding school series] and for the tinies there was Noddy, which I loved as a parent because my son was always eager to go to bed for another episode of Noddy’s adventures.
    As a child I also loved ‘The Secret Garden’.

    • Yes, Enid Blyton was suggested by some of my FB friends in England, and maybe Australia too. I’m excited to find her books and read them.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 460 other followers

