November 10, 2009

A Sleepless NaNoWriMo

Posted in writing at 3:48 pm by elizabethcaulfieldfelt

It’s November, and I’m writing. It feels great. I’m hardly sleeping at all.

Even as a a child I had a hard time falling asleep at night. Then, about eighteen months ago, I started falling asleep right away every night. I attributed it to the small glass of red wine I sometimes had before bed. I’m beginning to realize that it actually coincided with the completion of Syncopation. After finishing that novel, I decided not to write anything until I had spent time working on agents and editors to get it published. Wow! I slept like the dead during those months. Now, I’m writing again and not sleeping. I guess it is a sacrifice I’m willing to make.

What do you give up when you’re writing?

1 Comment »

  1. Ben Sobieck said,

    It’s impossible not to be consumed by a novel during the writing process. I think it’s a good thing to lose sleep. It means the brain is working overtime to crank out something good.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 435 other followers

